Watercolourist Wakes Up Feeling Red

Standard

Red. There are so many shades of red available to our colour wandering eyes, from salmon to raspberry to scarlet to maroon.  My daughter had a children’s video about colours when she was very little.  I believe it was one of the Baby Einstein’s series and it had this great voice over that said ” when I wake up feeling red, I throw on a cape and rush out the door”.  It was said with much vigor and intensity and also with such passion that it made us want to dance around with a red cape/blanket or even sometimes Christmas dinner napkins around our necks.  That was so much fun and it was such a gift to me today to recall that wonderful red memory,  one that may have been lost forever had I not awakened feeling red today!  If you’ve ‘red’ (so punny, I couldn’t resist) this paragraph  up to this point you are already sensing the symbolism in the colour red.  My son also joined in on the red excitement in the house today so I am posting his red artwork as well tonight.

Red things also surround us in a variety of places.  Instead of listing them, I thought a visual review of the red things in my own home would be fun.  I was amazed at how many red things there actually were in my house.

Today’s watercolour journal page lists some additional symbolism associated with the colour red.  I have also posted a number of red details found in other artworks that I’ve completed over the last year or so.  Enjoy, I hope you wake up feeling red too and keep making art.

Wake up feeling RED!! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

“January red” by my son Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

red lines Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Red and red Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Red coat Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Are the red things are:

ice cream cone holder Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

stress ball….interesting colour! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

paintbrush..of course Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

PoppyCopyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

bag with cool rocks..none of which were red Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Popcorn!! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Red arrow Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

teapot…it was love at first sight! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

 Fire truck Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

my red purse..or abyss as I sometimes call it (obviously well used too!) Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

