Watercolourist Demands Attention with Orange

Standard

Orange.  This was a colour I hadn’t used in a while so was a different colour for me and to be honest this was the quickest journal page completed  thus far.  It’s a school day so I simply had less time with evening activities, homework, bedtime and  books!  I am also preparing to do an art class for a children’s group in my town and am trying to get things ready for that.  The colour studies through the week will help me greatly!

I was not expecting to have as much fun with orange as I did as I really haven’t painted with it that much lately, but alas and as usual, I surprised myself and had a ball.   The symbolism for orange: warmth, enthusiasm, flamboyance and vibrance.  Interestingly, it was the only colour studied thus far without a “dark” side.  Not one negative thing to say about orange.  I would never have thought of orange as a warm colour other than the fact that most campfires have a warm orange glow.

The list of Orange things is also far scantier than the other colours and I have way fewer orange things in my home than red ( see my Red post).  So here are some orange things I discovered: California poppy, Irish Setter, lava, pumpkin, oranges (fruit), apricots, the Oriole (bird) and two butterflies, the Monarch (poisonous) and the Viceroy (non-poisonous).  So if in doubt, don’t eat the orange butterfly!  I was also intrigued by the translation of orange in other languages.  I felt that the Italian and Portuguese languages did more justice to orange with arancione and cor-de-loranja being their translations!  These words seemed much more reflective of the flamboyance of orange than the word, ‘orange,’which seems rather ‘unflamboyant’ in comparison.

So here is the work for today with a few close-ups and some orange details from larger works of mine.  I think I’m going to get back to orange as it appears I used it quite a bit when I first began painting again.  Enjoy, get vibrant with orange and keep making art!

flamboyant orange! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

oranges anyone? Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Vibrant Arancione…orange in Italian Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

In love with the fluidity of orange! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Orange Lava…from a Yann Arthur aerial (completed in November 2010) Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Orange Painted Lady…saw this in a magazine and did my own version (October 2010) Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Standing outside the orange bonfire! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

8 responses »

    • Thanks so much…the bonfire was one of my first pieces after my “playing around with paint” for a monht or so. I only posted the fire but there are fireworks above it..I’m sure I’ll post the entire work at some point! I love a good bonfire myself, reminds me of home. Thanks for visiting again and for your comments.

  1. I am loving your color posts. What a great idea..and full of interesting tidbits of info. Its funny how we are drawn to certain colors and others not so much. LOve orange and green and any art with them. Funny, because dont use them so much in my own artwork! Keep posting…I am looking forward to see what you come up with when you start mixing them all together:)
    Julie

    • Thanks so much Julie. It’s been a real learning experience, especially the symbolism of each colour! It is fascinating how we are drawn to certain colours and not others. I think our personalitiy features show through in our colour choices and our work. I, too can’t wait to start mixing things up a bit more with the journal pages!Thanks for the encouragement and I certainly will keep on posting. I am really enjoying your blog as well, your sketchbook was out of this world.

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

