Watercolourist Rejuvinated by Green Spring

Standard

Green.  I discovered today that I don’t use green in my work nearly often enough.  I thoroughly enjoyed my ‘green day’ today and, as a result, I am feeling quite relaxed and renewed.  The colour green is often associated with nature, the environment, good luck, vigor, fertility, and spring.  All very inspiring and energizing concepts.  Did you know though, that green has a notorious side as well?  I’m sure you’ve heard, “he’s green with envy” , “boy that guy/girl is green” referring to the new person on the job.  But I’m thinking that because green also signifies renewal then the jealous and the inexperienced should revel in the hope that their greenness will soon shift from the negative to the positive realm.  Reading this, I think I’ll add ‘hope’ to my green list as well.

Things that are green:  Thousands of trees and flowers, grass (of all varieties, ha!), guacamole, apples can be green, shamrocks, Irish things and Ireland (it’s true about the 40 shades),  Kermit the Frog (who was feeling uneasy with his colour), cards can be green (that’s what’s needed to work in the U.S., I wonder if that colour choice was made on purpose).  Regardless, it appears to me that green is an under-utilized colour in my art and in everyday, man-made items as well, but certainly not in our natural surroundings.  Hmmm…..I’m laughing now as I think of something very undesirable but required by us all that is also green…..I’ll leave that one up to your imaginations!

So, off we go then, here is the work for today and my ‘green’ discoveries amongst my artwork! I used a variety of greens including leaf, viridian(hue), sap, hooker’s, emerald, Veronese and bright parrot greens in watercolours, copic markers, staedtler markers and sequins (again!).  You may also notice that I used a little iridescent medium for watercolour as well.  Enjoy, it’s easy to be green and keep making art!

Green is filled with colour Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Look at that…a landscape! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Loving the greens…springs and leaves! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Green strip..not in the hooker’s green though..Ha! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

A little spot of green Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

I wonder if she gives rides on that thing? Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

green and gold wrappings Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Green was a belated addition to a piece I thought I’d throw out..I kept it! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Green Tea Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Germany’s KPM porcelain signature Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

When you fly over Ireland and look down..this is what you’ll see Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

2 responses »

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

