Watercolourist Loves Chairs and Naive Art

Standard

chose your chair..there are four here.

Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

My apologies for the flash in the centre of the photo.  I painted this piece in November 2010 and was still really new at the art and the photography!  At that time I was combing through art books like there was no tomorrow and was also looking through magazines as well.  I was drawn to chairs (still am) and for fun and in order to do some experimentation with different techniques and colours as well as try to learn a little about art history I thought I would integrate the two..or in this case the five!  There are four chairs and the loving, motherly and yet militaristic lady (boy does life ever imitate art or visa versa in this case..read my ‘about me’ and a few of my earliest blogs for hints on why!).  The lady you ask..she is from a book called Naive Art (Art of Century) by Nathalia Brodskaya.

According to Wikipedia, “the term naïve art, is often seen as outside art which is without a formal (or little) training or degree. While this was true before the twentieth century, there are now academies for naïve art. Naïve art is now a fully recognized art genre, represented in art galleries worldwide”.  The lady though, I can not recall the artist’s work on whom she is based!  It was well over a year ago, and I have long since returned the book, so please forgive me!  Enjoy, learn about naive art and its artists and keep making art!

9 responses »

    • I’m replying again becasue now that I take a second look..you are indeed correct! There is a cat on one of the chairs although I did not intend it to be there! Excellent!!! I have always felt that the viewer of each work finds himself or herself within the work! I guess you found a piece of you in there! Incredible!

  1. Beautiful dear Lorelei, I can see the cat too 🙂 We are both cat loves with dear Rumpy 🙂 Dear Lorelei last night I watched a video, it was so nice and so enjoyable to watch. You were in my mind because I wanted to share with you too, I hope you enjoy and get inspiration too… Maybe you have already known this lady,

    http://donnadowney.typepad.com/simply_me/2012/03/index.html

    Thank you, have a nice and creative and enjoyable weekend, with my love, nia

    • First of all nia, I now see the cat, you and rumpy are amazingly observant, no surprise. I think it is fascinating as I did not intend there to be a cat in this piece! I am so thrilled that you enjoyed it! I llooked a this page and it look amazing but haven’t found a moment as of yet to watch the video! I will do though and will tell you about it! Thanks so much for your great comments and have a fantastic weekend!

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

