Watercolourist Re-Lives Childhood

Standard

A short post tonight as my journal page speaks for itself.  The background is loosely based on my grandfather’s house and land.  The big picture is me and the very small my parents.  This was a wonderful trip down memory lane and now I’ll share it with you.  Enjoy, what did you do when you were a kid and keep making art!

this is me and the things I liked to do as a kid Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

so much music Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Uncle Mick’s store had big jars of candy and he’d let us take handfuls!! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

6 responses »

    • I thought I might get some questions about that. Well, it is when we would go out in the boat and take all of the components of our meal with us, or we would catch it on the way (e.g., fish). The meal usually included some type of beef or fish, veggies, potatoes etc. My Dad and older sisters would start a fire on the beach, we’d get a hugh pot boiling and cook it all in one pot. We’d all run around like wild children while Mom and Dad tended the pot and then would all sat down for a great meal followed by home baked bread and fresh butter and some tea! It was fantastic and was something we did with our parents almost every weekend in the summers. My Dad is gone now and my mother lives in Florida. When we go to see her in February of each year, we have a picnic on the beach and spend the day with my kids just as we did when we were little. We’re heading there next Saturday. My apologies for the long explanation but it was such a great time that it’s hard to sum it up in a few words. Thank you so mcuh for asking! I’m sure you’ve had a few ‘boil ups’ in your day too!

    • the only ‘boil up’ I recall is when we went camping in Nova Scotia and my father bought an entire bucket of scallops from a boat at the pier. And I absolutely loved them and ate so many that to this day I can’t even look at them without turning green. Sometimes you can boil up a little too much.

    • It was wonderful and there are so many wonderful memories and loads of photographs and slides of our times together..my sister is putting the slides on disc for us all. I’m really looking forward to it as I really would like to try to paint some of these scenes. Thank you for your comments as they certainly were magical times that live forever in our memories!

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

