Watercolourist Catches Roadrunner In Twenty-Seven Below Zero

Standard

I thought it was freezing out yesterday.  Well, it was a balmy -8 degrees celsius then.  Today, it was -27!  I braved the cold again to experiment with a larger sheet of paper and a little more colour.  I also wanted to try out a few different methods.  First, I wanted to know what the colder temperature would do to heavily concentrated washes versus less colour concentrated washes.  Second, I was interested in what happened if I just poured the water over the paper and let it run off on its own.  Third, I was interested in seeing what happened if I could get the watercolour to create a dripping effect.  Well, here are my results!  I’ve posted a slide show of the wet and freezing effects. Since I then left the whole thing out to dry in the cold I’ve posted the resulting details and then the full image…look and you will find that I have indeed caught a bird-like creature.  I hope you enjoy the colours as much I enjoyed assisting mother nature in creating them.  Don’t be shy, get your warmest hat and jacket on and tell your family you won’t be long, that you’re just outside to keep making art!

Here are the really wet and beginning to freeze shots with the dried ones mixed in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are the Freeze dried shots in still form.  Fascinating how nature creates imagery that is so..well, natural and organic.

I love how projective these are! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Looks like an aerial photograph of a purple lake! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

very lava looking Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Fairy footprints Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

such motion! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

There..I’ve caught the Roadrunner! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

6 responses »

    • It was a very fascinating expereince. I took some video of the freezing process as well that I had hoped to show but had difficulty with getting it uploaded. If I ever get that working I could e-mail it to you. The freeze drying was really interesting. I tried to do that the day before but it wasn’t cold enough. It was actually left outside for about 5 hours and only had a small (tip of the thumb) pool of water left at that point. I’d love to expand on the frozen effects and see what comes of it as well. Thank you for dropping by to view the post and for taking the time to share your thoughts with me.

  1. These are wonderfully inventive! The colours are great and the one you “such motion” looks very floral. I have no desire to try writing at -27 and I can’t imagine the results other than
    “cold, cold, cold, going in”

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments. When it’s that cold outside the mind starts coming up with some pretty wild and wonderful ideas..maybe writing in the cold would be a great experiment after all. It was very very cold though and it took a long while for me to warm up afterward! The frozen effects are so lovely though, each time I look I see something new! Thanks again for viewing the post.

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

