Watercolourist Allowed Only the Colour Blue Today

Standard

Blue.  Often this colour is associated with depression and is often used to describe mood.  I am feeling “blue” today or “baby blues”.  Obviously feeling blue and being depressed are two very different experiences, but blue nonetheless, continues to be associated with deep despair and sadness.  Well, I am hoping to change that impression for those who read this post today.  Here are some of the other things that are symbolized by the colour blue:  peace, unity, trust, truth, confidence, security, order, loyalty (blue beret of the United Nations), tranquility, calm (calm blue sea), stability (a number of depression meds are blue in colour), harmony (the blue tones), conservatism (in Canada the conservative party uses blue), cleanliness (I have a blue recycle bin), sky, water, cold (so cold he was blue), technology (look to your upper left. What colour is your back arrow?..the twitter logo is…..blue) and, last but not least, appetite suppressant? ( never heard that one before?).

Now that we are well versed in blue and it’s symbols we can move on to things that are blue: blueberry, blue jay, blue bird, blue sky, blue sea, blue hyacinth, Blue Man Group, Grover on Sesame Street, the Cookie Monster from the same show, blue sapphire, blue eyes, baby boy’s clothing…and I am sure I could go on, but won’t.

Today I used four different blues, lots of tape (which was green), a blue watercolour pencil, blue marker and blue sequins (that was fun!).  The lettering is the style of Paul Klee (my hero!).   I also did a bit of an art review of my own work, completed over the past year, that has included the colour blue.  I decided to post a few for you.  Enjoy, feel any colour you like and keep making art!

Blue’s Revenge! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Blue eyes? Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Blue Harmony Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Blue Unity Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Order a Cold Blue Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Blue Moon Kayak Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Not a painting but I also take lots of photographs! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Yeehaw!!!! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

I love my china and Andy Warhol! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

8 responses »

  1. love all your blue art. i’m especially partial to blue… mostly sky blue, but many shades from that which is almost white, to that which is vibrant and whimsical. i learned lots from your one post. Just from a few seconds of googling Paul Klee, I can tell you i’m already a big fan. I can’t wait to learn more about him, and learn more from you! (-:

    • Thank you so much for your kind comments! Paul Klee is fantastic! Viewed a number of his works during a visit to Berlin last May and instantly fell in love. Enjoy your foray into his world, he is a fascinating artist. I noted in your “about” that you are very much an avid learner, like I am. That was one of the main reasons I started this blog…to learn from others, I am honoured that you learned from me as well.

    • Thanks Deb, the writing is very new to me…I’m more used to a scientific writing style but am enjoying telling the story with a little more flair and way more words than usual! “Just the facts” rings in my ears as I write, but I’m learning to ignore it!

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more