Watercolourist Allowed Only One Colour a Day

Standard

By today’s title I am sure you know what is coming.  I plan to use only one colour a day for the next 6 days and see what kind of interesting images I can develop.  I am open to your recommendations of colour choice for each day..as long as you give me a “heads up”.  Today I chose purple.  The colour purple signifies royalty, nobility, mystery,  and spirituality, as well as cruelty, arrogance and mourning.  It is also signifies transformation.  Aside from all of those things, I just love purple.  Things that are purple include:  purple Gerber daisy,  purple pansy, grape hyacinth , lilac, eggplant, crocus, purple paint, purple marker, purple crayon, grapes, purple cabbage and sometimes those blue potatoes look purple to me!  This is, of course, not an exhaustive list.

Purple Rain?Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Purple mourning and cruelty Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Purple tint and shade! Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Arrogance is purple Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

The blue violet mountains Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Lessons learned today with purple: it can be difficult to tell the difference between blue-violet, violet, and purple when they are layered.  painter’s tape is best laid down once the paint is completely dry and it is really hard to get off once you’ve used a hair dryer to speed up the process.  Perhaps I should be doing yoga poses between layers.  It was interesting to paint using just one colour, especially with no particular goal in mind other than to demonstrate purple!  As I looked through my work over the last year or so I discovered lots and lots of purple.  Here is a sample:

Purple and gold with a 1940’s German Camo background Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Purple gown anyone? Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Enjoy, start thinking about colour and keep making art!

2 responses »

  1. Of them, the one of ‘purple tint and shade’ and ‘the mountains’ stand out as most striking (to me). They have the deep deep areas, which draw the eye, and I am always happy to see how freely you apply your washes. It’s so refreshing that you aren’t trying to reproduce a photograph, but are drawing from your well of feelings.

    You forgot one of the main things that are purple. My sister. When she turned sixty, she announced to the world, “FINALLY, I get to wear purple!” She let her hair go silver and now waltzes around like a grape. It makes shopping for her a breeze.

    Thank you for your kind remarks.

    • I would love to meet your sister! She sounds like a really cool lady..not unlike her brother I am sure! Thank you again and I am looking forward to your post today whilst I spend the day at home with the kids for their second snow day in a week.

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

