Watercolourist in Training: Act as if it is impossible to fail.

Standard

Another day and another entry into the inspirational watercolour journal.  I started the journaling as I had hoped it would inspire and energize me across the rest of my everyday life as well as other art, literary and musical pursuits.  Well, I believe it has and I have thrown caution to the wind, and a few household chores along with it, and acted as if it is impossible to fail.  I have also noticed others around me who behave in the same manner.  Family, friends, fellow bloggers and even people I do not know.  A great example was a very young man I saw when I was out and about today.  This young man had embraced his discomfort with boys clothes and everything that is boyish and dawned the clothing and mannerisms of a girl.  He was hanging out with two other boys and three other girls.  His friends, boys and girls alike, accepted him with abandon.  A huge credit to this boy and his friends!  He and they created an environment in which he acted as if it was impossible to fail ( I thought!).  I only wish I could be as brave on a daily basis.

The work today includes the daily journal page close up without the full-page.  In a fit of overzealous art making I started on tomorrow’s without realizing I hadn’t taken the full-page photo. You also get a little preview of tomorrow!!

Failure is a fact of life (depending upon how you look at it) but we should behave as if it is not. Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

In atonement for my “happy accident” (thanks to Jean Rooney, Visual Artist for this little quote), I’m adding a few sketch book marker pieces I began yesterday.  My inspiration for those is a friend I miss dearly who lives far, too far away.  We have a Saturday morning routine of e-mailing eachother and after I read her message I really wished I could have been there.  These colours made me feel much closer to her.  Enjoy, act, view and keep making art.

Thinking of a friend far away today Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Lovely place Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

2 responses »

    • Thank you. I’m trying to maintain the freedom as my inner critic began to loudly voice her opinion when I last worked with watercolours. This time I’m trying to just “flow with it”. I really appreciate your comments and am thrilled you return to view my work!

Your thoughts are so exhilarating..tell me more

