Watercolourist’s Tryst With Istanbul

Standard

Unfinished Istanbul Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

detail 1 Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park

detail 2 Copyright 2012 Lorelei Walsh Park 

I began this work in November 2010, just after completing my Prismatic Spring work based on Yann Arthus-Bertrand’s monumental photography.  This too was based on one of his spectacular photographs from the same book “Earth From Above”.  But, as you can see, it got overwhelming for me at that time.  First, I was a day old fledgling baby duck watercolourist and second, I really think the work should have been way larger than what it is.  It is drawn and coloured with watercolour pencils on 18 x 24 watercolour paper.  Not big enough and too much for me at that time.

Fast forward a few months to early 2011.  I went back to it and decided to work on pieces of it.  I cut it into 12 studies, two of which I will reveal over the coming days, and the rest…yes, you guessed it, also remain unfinished.  Other reasons why I may not have gone further with it, other than experience and size was a connection to the work.  I didn’t have one, not until recently.

Not long after I began this blog, a lovely photographer named nia liked my work and I began to follow her and she followed me.  She is from Istanbul!!!!  She posts the most wonderful photography of Istanbul and over the last few weeks I have found myself thinking about the unfinished work I shamelessly show to you today.  I believe that with the connection I was looking for and a little more experience (I am now a 5 day old fledgling baby duck watercolourist!), I can finish it.  I can!!  Thank you nia for the gifts you have given me: your photography, your talent, your enthusiasm, your friendship, a bird’s-eye view of, and a deepening love of, all things Istanbul. Enjoy, wish me luck as I embark on this work and keep making art!

